If you are a nominee looking to submit your photo for the 2015 Excellence in Education Awards Program please click here. 

Excellence in Education Awards

Ida S. Baker Diversity Educator of the Year  
2014 Julia Sarmiento – Shields Middle

Ida S. Baker was the first African-American to serve as Deputy Superintendent in the Florida Department of Education. She was known for her efforts to support diverse students and encourage academic success. In her honor, each school site may nominate an individual that embodies the pioneering spirit of Ida S. Baker by going above and beyond to meet the needs of our diverse student population.




Instructional Support Employee of the Year
2014 Amy Peters – Willis Peters ESE Center
Instructional support personnel are recognized for ensuring students and schools have the proper care and services available to promote an enriched and safe environment. Each school may nominate a person who supports the district through administration, transportation, or health services. The winner of the award will go on to compete for the title at the state, and potentially, national level.




Teacher of the Year
2014 Patrick Boyko – Jefferson High 

The Teacher of the Year award recognizes outstanding teacher who have been nominated by their school site for their dedication to the academic achievement of their students. The winner goes on to compete for the Florida State Teacher of the Year honors, and potentially the national Teacher of the Year.